5,151 3,965 648

CEI Fellowship for Writers in Residence

17 April 2010
CEI Fellowship for Writers in Residence
For our Asian friends in Europe. Wish we had something like this in Asia.

Call for Applications for the CEI FELLOWSHIP FOR WRITERS IN RESIDENCE for the year 2010 awarded by the CENTRAL EUROPEAN INITIATIVE in co-operation with the SLOVENE WRITERS ASSOCIATION within the Vilenica International Literary Festival

The CEI Fellowship for Writers in Residence is an award aimed at encouraging cross-border cooperation and promotion in the field of literature for young writers from Central European countries not yet part of the European Union. The fellowship is endowed with a cash award of EUR 5,000 for a three-month stay in any of the Central European Initiative Member States, selected by the candidate. The fellowship winner will be the guest of the 25th Vilenica International Literary Festival which will take place from 1 to 5 September 2010 at various locations in Slovenia. At the opening of the festival the fellowship winner will be officially announced and presented at one of the festival events. The candidate is eligible for the fellowship from 1 September 2010 till 1 September 2011. Within 60 days after completion of the residency the candidate must submit a written report.

The Central European Initiative (CEI) is composed of 18 Member States: Albania, Austria, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Italy, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia and Ukraine. They embrace a territory of 2.4 million square kilometres and a population of nearly 250 million. The CEI was the first regional co-operation forum on the political map of Central, Eastern and South-Eastern Europe and has among all regional groupings the longest tradition and covers the largest area. It was established in 1989 by Austria, Italy, Hungary and Yugoslavia with the aim of establishing a platform of mutual political, economic, scientific and cultural co-operation called Quadrangular Co-operation. From its very inception the CEI has promoted cohesion and solidarity among its Member States. In recent years it has emerged as one of the foremost platforms for regional co-operation. One of the CEI main objectives is to bring the countries of Central, Eastern and South-eastern Europe closer together and assist them in their preparation process for EU membership through economic, human and institutional development.

Conditions of entry

Applicants eligible for the fellowship are writers from all genres under 35 (born after 1975) from CEI Member States which are not part of the European Union (Albania, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Moldova, Montenegro, Serbia and Ukraine).

Application guidelines

The deadline for applications is 1 June 2010. Applications must be received in a sealed envelope by regular mail. The committee will consider entries which reach the address below by 1 June 2010.

(Writer In Residence)
T 12
SI-1000 Ljubljana

The application must include the following obligatory enclosures:

1. A filled in registration form (find attached).
2. A biography in English (max. 1800 characters without spaces).
3. Copy of a valid ID or passport with the visible date and place of birth, and the citizenship.
4. A bibliography in English (max. 3600 characters without spaces).
5. A description in English of the project to be undertaken during the three-month residence,
and if possible a contact address in the host country (max 4500 characters without spaces).
6. One letter of recommendation in English (max. 1800 characters without spaces).

(More information HERE.)
Related Opportunities: