5,151 3,965 648

Bush Artist Fellowships

23 April 2010
Bush Artist Fellowships
Deadline: 1 July 2010

Since 1976, the Bush Artist Fellowship (BAF)program has supported more than 400 different artists with significant financial and professional development support that has enabled them to further their work and their contributions to their communities.

Each year, up to 15 artists receive unrestricted grants of $48,000 that are distributed over 12 to 24 months. In addition, fellows receive up to $2,000 to plan and implement an individual communications strategy. Fellowships begin with a two-day orientation retreat followed by informal artist gatherings and professional development programs.

The BAF enables artists to deepen and advance their work, to foster their artistic careers and to contribute to community dialogue through their work. Artists may use a fellowship to explore new directions, continue work already in progress or accomplish work not financially feasible otherwise. Fellows may decide to take time to engage in collaborative or community projects, embark on travel or research, or pursue any other activity that contributes to their development.

Artist Fellowship Eligibility

We welcome applications from qualified artists who:

* are residents of our funding region: Minnesota, North Dakota or South Dakota, and are U.S. citizens or permanent residents.

* have lived in our funding region at least 24 months immediately prior to the application deadline.

* are at least 25-years-old on the application deadline.

You are not eligible to apply if you:

* are a student enrolled full- or part-time in a degree-granting program after July 1, 2010.

* have already received two BAFs or an Enduring Vision Award.

No more than two former fellows will receive fellowships in any given year.

Please Note: Artistic Categories alternate on a bi-annual basis and may include specific eligibility requirements.

Former BAF recipients may apply only if they have:

* submitted a final report and

* completed their previous fellowship at least five years from the completion date and not the fellowship year. Call if you are not sure about your eligibility.

New: Recipients of two BAFs are no longer eligible to apply.

No more than two former fellows will receive fellowships in any given year. However, two-time recipients may be eligible for the Enduring Vision Awards.

(More information HERE.)
Related Opportunities: