5,151 3,965 648

BBC National Short Story Award 2010 Launches

07 April 2010
BBC National Short Story Award 2010 Launches
For our friends in UK:

The BBC National Short Story Award has launched its fifth year. The award is one of the most prestigious for a single short story, with the winning author receiving £15,000. The runner up receives £3,000 and three further shortlisted authors, £500 each.

This year's award is now open for submissions from publishers, agents and published authors from the UK. The closing date for entries is 18th June 2010.

The shortlist will be announced in November with the five stories broadcast on BBC Radio 4 each weekday a week before the winner is announced. The five stories will also be published in a special anthology.

Aimed at highlighting the importance of the short story and supporting the genre, the BBC National Short Story Award stands at the heart of a UK-wide campaign — story — that has run alongside the award since 2005. The ambition of both the award and the campaign is to expand opportunities for British writers, readers and publishers of the short story. The award aims to honour the country's finest exponents of the form. James Lasdun secured the inaugural award for An Anxious Man; last year the poet Kate Clanchy won with The Not-Dead and The Saved. Other authors shortlisted in previous years have included Jackie Kay, William Trevor, Rose Tremain, Clare Wigfall, Naomi Alderman and Lionel Shriver.

BBC Radio 4 is the world's leading broadcaster of short stories and a staunch and long-time supporter of the form. Short stories are broadcast every week attracting more than a million listeners. The BBC hopes that the award can continue to serve as a reminder of the power of the short story in a literary environment dominated by the novel.

(More information HERE.)
Related Opportunities: