5,151 3,965 648

Scholarships/ Fellowships to Wesleyan University Writers Conference

11 March 2010
Scholarships/ Fellowships to Wesleyan University Writers Conference
Award-winning writers Amy Bloom, Andre Aciman, Roxana Robinson, Michael Dirda, and Peter Gizzi will join more than 20 writers, editors, and agents at the 54th annual Wesleyan Writers Conference, June 17th-21st, 2010 at Wesleyan University. In addition to the five-day program, a one-day festival will be held on June 19.

The conference offers advice for writers at every stage of their career, featuring classes, workshops, guest speakers, readings, publishing advice and talks with editors and agents. It welcomes new writers, experienced writers, and everyone interested in the writer’s craft. Manuscript consultations are available.

Applications for Scholarships and Fellowships must reach us by APRIL 2, 2010.

Scholarships are awarded competitively, and applicants are judged on the basis of promise shown in their work. Entries should consist of a work in one genre: fiction, nonfiction, or poetry. Several scholarships provide full tuition, room, and board, but most offer smaller awards, covering a part of the Conference tuition.

Several teaching fellowships are available and are awarded to outstanding applicants who have completed book-length manuscripts.

To apply, please submit (1) the registration form, (2) a representative sample of your work in one genre, and (3) a letter of application explaining your experience and interests and (4) a resume.

You need not send a deposit with your fellowship or scholarship materials. If you are certain you will attend the Conference, however, do send the $75 deposit and registration form immediately, before completing the rest of your application. The deposit guarantees you a place at the Conference if you should not win an award.

Fellowship and Scholarship Committee, Wesleyan Writers Conference, Wesleyan University, 294 High Street, Middletown, CT 06459. (Applicants for Jon Davidoff Scholarships, please mark that on your envelope)

Scholarships offered:

Wesleyan Scholarships: Open to all applicants, these grants are supported by the Conference and by gifts from donors.

Joan Jakobson Scholarships: For fiction writers, poets, and nonfiction writers of unusual promise. Supported by a grant from Joan and John Jakobson.

Adelphic Scholarships: Preference to students in college or graduate school. Supported by the Adelphic Educational Fund and the Adelphic Literary Society.

Jon Davidoff Scholarships: Several full and partial scholarships for journalists are offered in memory of Jon Davidoff, a young reporter for the Middletown Press, through a fund endowed by the Davidoff family.

John W. Paton Scholarships: Offered in honor of Jack Paton, former director of the Conference, by his many friends and colleagues.

Women's Club Scholarship: Offered by the General Federation of the Women's Clubs of Connecticut to a woman for whom writing is a major interest.

New—the Jeanne B. Krochalis Award: Established in memory of Jeanne B. Krochalis, a Conference founder and chair of the Advisory Board, by her family and many friends. This scholarship will support a writer of talent and promise, someone who shares Jeanne’s belief in the importance of the literary work.

Fellowships offered:

Teaching fellowships are awarded in fiction, non-fiction, and poetry. Applicants are generally expected to have completed a book-length manuscript. The Fellows work informally with Conference participants, organizing readings and offering editorial advice. Each fellowship covers tuition, room, and board, and includes an honorarium of $500.

Barach Fellowship: The fellowship in nonfiction is endowed in memory of Arnold Barach, distinguished Wesleyan alumnus, Washington correspondent, and editor of Changing Times magazine.

(More information HERE.)
Related Opportunities: