5,151 3,965 648

Laboratory Theater Festival Now Accepting Scripts

30 March 2010
Laboratory Theater Festival Now Accepting Scripts
The Virgin Laboratory Theater Festival, now on its 6th year, welcomes scripts from interested playwrights. In the past five years, the Virgin Labfest produced a number of previously unstaged, unpublished, untried, and untested play scripts, performed by the best of Philippine theater actors such as Nonie Buencamino, Arnold Reyes, Irma Adlawan-Marasigan, Jake Macapagal, Shamaine Buencamino, Wenah Nogales, Mailes Kanapi, Sherry Lara, Raquel Villavicencio, Peewee O'Hara, Joanthan Tadioan, Riki Benedicto, and a host of other actors from various theater companies, PETA, Tanghalang Pilipino, New Voice Company, Repertory Philippines, etc.

What we're looking for:
1. One act plays preferably with a casting requirement of not more than 5 (maximum of ten).
2. The plays should not have been published, nor won any national literary award.
3. The play should not have been performed in a regular theater run of more than two shows (workshop performances and public staged readings are acceptable).
4. Running time of the play should be within 25 to 40 minutes (about 18 to 30 short-bond pages).
5. Plays may be in English or Filipino, or any of the major regional languages: Visayan/ Ilocano (though casting demands may be possible deterrents to stageability in Metro Manila.)

There are no specific thematic or stylistic requirements. Submitted entries should include: Full name and contact addresses (telephone numbers, email, mobile numbers) of the playwright.

Deadline of submission: April 30, 2010.

The Virgin Labfest shall produce these plays for a minimum honorarium to the playwright but with possibilities of future sponsorships and other tie-ins. Copyright concerns are limited solely in the production of the play. The playwright reserves full ownership of the work.

In the past, some of the works performed have been sponsored for play tours. Still, others have been translated into film projects. Others have figured in some of the theater companies' major theater seasons. and still others have gone on to win prestigious awards such as Aliw! and Gawad Buhay!

You may submit your entries to rodyvera@gmail. com (addressed to Rody Vera, executive director the Writer's Bloc) or to ccptanghalan@ yahoo.com (addressed to Ms. Jose Estrella). You may also wish to send hard-copy entries to the CCP Office of the Performing Arts Department, look for Ms. Clottie Gealogo or Ms. Nikki Torres. For further inquiries, you contact rodyvera@gmail. com or tel number: 5510823.
Related Opportunities: