5,151 3,965 648

J.I. Segal Awards 2010 on Jewish Themes

14 March 2010
J.I. Segal Awards 2010 on Jewish Themes
Calls for Submissions from authors, educators and filmmakers for the J.I. Segal Awards 2010 competition in eight categories on Jewish themes including literature, translation, education and film. Prizes will be awarded in a Gala on November 10, 2010 at the Jewish Public Library. The application deadline is April 30, 2010. The call for submissions, with prize categories and contact information, is available here. Those interested may also contact the Jewish Public Library, 5151 Côte Ste-Catherine Road, Montreal. For more information, call (514) 345-2627 ext. 3017 or visit The Jewish Public Library’s website.

The J.I. Segal Awards of the Jewish Public Library are made possible by the J.I. Segal Cultural Foundation, established 42 years ago by the late Dr. Hirsh and Dvora Rosenfeld to honour and perpetuate the memory of the great Yiddish-Canadian poet J.I. Segal (1896–1954) and to foster Jewish cultural creativity in Canada. These prestigious awards are presented every two years to encourage and reward creative works on Jewish themes and to recognize contributions in Jewish education, both formal and informal. The competition is open to Canadians for works in English and French, and for North Americans in Hebrew, and worldwide in Yiddish. For more information, contact (514) 345-2627 ext. 3017 or The Jewish Public Library.

Past award winners include Irving Layton, Naim Kattan, Adele Wiseman, Prof. Ruth Wisse, Yehoshua Rabinovitch, Yehuda Elberg, Yaacov Zipper, Dora Wasserman, David Homel, Rabbi Leib Kramer, Professor Gershon Hundert, Edeet Ravel, Leonard Cohen and Ina Fichman.
Related Opportunities: