5,151 3,965 648

$10,000 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction Award

12 March 2010
$10,000 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction Award
For our Asian friends in Canada:

Entries are being sought for the 2010 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction, a $10,000 literary award that recognizes excellence in Canadian creative non-fiction.

Designed to encourage new Canadian talent, the Edna Staebler Award is open to authors who have published a first or second book with a Canadian locale and/or significance. The 2010 award is open to works published in the 2009 calendar year and distinguished by first-hand research, well-crafted interpretive writing and a creative use of language or approach to the subject matter. Self-published books are not eligible.

Entries must be received by Friday, April 30, 2010 to be considered. For further information, or to obtain an entry form and a complete list of submission guidelines, please visit: www.wlu.ca/staebleraward.

Russell Wangersky won the 2009 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction for his memoir Burning Down the House: Fighting Fires and Losing Myself. Wangersky’s book offers a crystal-clear portrait of a man who, through his career as a firefighter, becomes addicted to the rush of danger. In a narrative stacked with house fires, car wrecks and various other human tragedies, Wangersky portrays the emotional contingencies and lingering trauma that slowly begin to pull his life apart.

Previous winners have also included authors Linden MacIntyre, Wayson Choy and Elizabeth Hay.

Established and endowed by writer and literary journalist Edna Staebler, the Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction is administered by Wilfrid Laurier University, the only university in Canada to bestow a nationally recognized literary award. Staebler, who died in 2006, was an award-winning journalist and a member of the Order of Canada.
Related Opportunities: