5,151 3,965 648

Tulaan Sa Tren 2 Back on Track

28 January 2010
Tulaan Sa Tren 2 Back on Track
The road to making the Filipinos a more reflective and scrutinizing people is just a train ride away. Lumbera_Abad_YusonA 60-minute train ride from Santolan to Recto and back to Santolan station was the official launch of Tulaan sa Tren 2 on January 16. This was the National Book Development Board’s (NBDB) joint initiative with the Light Rail Transit Authority (LRTA), Vibal Foundation, the Book Development Association of the Philippines (BDAP) and the Optical Media Board in promoting Philippine literature, particularly poetry, making it closer to more Filipinos and turning" their ordinary commute into a more meaningful and insightful journey.

Guests who attended the opening program were the Tulaan sa Tren train’s first passengers, including National Artist for Literature Bienvenido Lumbera, Premio Feronia-winning poet Gémino Abad and Man Asian Literary Prize shortlisted author Alfred Yuson, editors of the year’s collection entitled “Off the Beaten Track.” Dr. Lumbera lauded the efforts of NBDB in opening a door for Philippine poetry to let the commuters experience the words and musings of the poets while waiting for the train to drop them off to their destinations. Tulaan sa Tren 2 also took a fresh turn by holding a month-long poetry-writing contest that yielded notable pieces that were posted alongside the works of Yuson, Ricardo De Ungria, Joi Barrios, Isabela Banzon, Mookie Katigbak, Angelo Suárez, and Mesándel Virtusio Arguelles among others.

The winners for the Filipino category are: Joselito delos Reyes for “Pan-Rush Hour” (1st prize), Gexter Ocampo Lacambra for “Sa Metro Linea (Pagkamatay. . . Pagkabuhay)” (2nd prize), Abdon Balde Jr. for “Tren, Tren, Tren” (3rd prize), Danilo Diaz for “Dahilan ay Ikaw,” and Kristian Sendon Cordero for “Amay Nang Magdiklom (Maaga Nang Dumilim)” (runners-up). For the English category, the winners are: Raymond Falgui for “Bus Trip” (1st prize), Louella Santiago Suque for “A Train Window Picture Show” (2nd prize), and Raymund Reyes for “I, Migrant” (3rd prize).

Original article can be found HERE.
Related Opportunities: