5,151 3,965 648

The Muslim Writers Awards

26 January 2010
The Muslim Writers Awards
The Muslim Writers Awards judges panel 2010: Shemiza Rashid is a teacher of English and Expressive art, and visiting lecturer at Bedfordshire University in the creative arts science and technology department. She is an Interfaith Art Consultant. Leila Aboulela is the Sudanese-born author of, The Translator, a New York Times Notable Book of the Year and Minaret – both novels were long listed for the Orange Prize and IMPAC Dublin Award. Bhavit Mehta, born in London, studied Biological Sciences at Queen Mary and worked at UCL before entering the world of Children's books in 2007 with 'Saadhak Books.' Alveena Malik is Principle Associate at the Institute of Community Cohesion with lead responsibility on Education and Cohesion policy. Moazaam Begg is the director for the prisoner human rights organisation, Cageprisoners and has appeared on numerous radio and television interviews including the BBC's Hardtalk, Newsnight and Panorama. Subnum Hariff has returned to Bolton MBC after having completed a successful year on the prestigious Clore Leadership Programme where she worked on as secondment for Creativity Culture and Education (CCE). DIPNET is an organisation that aims to redress the balance of equality in the UK publishing sector through organizing networking events. Farhana Shaikh is the Editor of online literary magazine, The Asian Writer, which supports and encourages writing from the British Asian community. Anna Perera was born in London to an Irish mother and Sri Lankan father and grew up twenty miles away with her head planted firmly in a book. She taught English in two London secondary schools.

Visite the site.
Related Opportunities: